Main Content

Billings and Divide Counties Added to Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
June 8, 2011
Release Number: 

Bismarck, N.D. – Billings and Divide counties were added to the federal disaster declaration issued by President Obama on May 10 in response to North Dakota flooding beginning Feb. 14 and continuing.

As a result of the declaration, federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by flooding.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and tribes within the state.

Already included in the disaster declaration were: Barnes, Benson, Bottineau, Burke, Burleigh, Cass, Cavalier, Dickey, Eddy, Foster, Grand Forks, Grant, Griggs, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, McIntosh, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Nelson, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Renville, Richland, Rolette, Sargent, Sheridan, Steele, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Walsh, Ward, Wells and Williams counties, and the reservations of the Spirit Lake Nation, the Three Affiliated Tribes, and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: