Main Content

Seven Disaster Assistance Centers Opening Across Arkansas

Release date: 
June 6, 2011
Release Number: 

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Seven Disaster Assistance Centers (DACs) will open in the coming days in Arkansas counties to connect disaster survivors with state and federal specialists who can help them start their recoveries.

At the centers, survivors can meet face to face with specialists from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). The staff can answer questions and provide information on the recovery process. 

DACs are a streamlined, short-term version of the Disaster Recovery Centers already in use throughout the state. Their shorter schedules allow federal specialists to offer more Arkansans help on applying for state and FEMA disaster assistance and SBA low-interest disaster recovery loans. Several centers will be open in the late afternoon through early evening to accommodate office workers.

The schedule is:

Saline County
June 6 - 7
Saline County Office of Emergency Management
102 South Main, Level B
Benton, AR 72107
9 a.m. - 6 p.m.

Lawrence County
June 7

Walnut Ridge Community Room
115 West Walnut
Walnut Ridge, AR 72439
4 p.m. - 8 p.m.

Mississippi County
June 8
Mississippi County Courthouse
3rd Floor Courtroom
200 Walnut
Blytheville, AR 72315
4 p.m. - 8 p.m.

Jackson County
June 10
Diaz City Hall
3401 South Main
Diaz, AR 72403
4 p.m. - 8 p.m.

Clay County
June 9
Corning Community Center
Wal-Mart Room
536 East Elm
Corning, AR 72422
4 p.m. - 8 p.m.

Boone County
June 11
Boone County Office of Emergency
400 East Prospect
Harrison, AR 72601
10 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Lonoke County
June 13
Office of Emergency Management
210 North Center
Lonoke, AR 72086
10 a.m. - 4 p.m.

To expedite the assistance process, Arkansans are encouraged to register with FEMA before visiting, but registering is not required to receive help at the center. Those who have already registered with FEMA will receive automated phone calls from the agency to tell them when a center will open near them.

Survivors may register online at, via web-enabled phone at, or by telephone toll free at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585. Specialists are available by phone from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.

Follow FEMA tweets about the Arkansas disaster at Other online resources include, and

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: