Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available

Main Content
Release date: 
June 3, 2011
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky.  — Residents of 17 Kentucky counties who became unemployed because of the floods, storms and tornadoes between April 22 and May 20 may qualify for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA). This program helps people who don't qualify for standard unemployment compensation programs.

To be eligible, disaster survivors need to live, work or own a business in one of the 17 Kentucky counties designated for Individual Assistance by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Kentucky Division of Emergency Management.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance is a federally funded program administered through the Kentucky Education and Workforce Cabinet, Office of Employment and Training to help workers whose primary income was lost or interrupted as a direct result of the disaster.

Unemployment payments up to 26 weeks are available for workers who temporarily lost jobs because of the storms and who don't normally qualify for unemployment insurance benefits, such as farmers and self-employed individuals.

You can apply if you fall into one or more of the following categories:

  • You became unemployed as a direct result of the storms, floods and tornadoes.
  • You cannot reach your place of employment because of disaster-related travel disruptions.
  • You must support a household because the head of the household died in the storms.
  • You are unable to work because of a disaster-related injury.
  • You could not work because your place of employment was damaged or destroyed by the storms.
  • You were scheduled to start work and the job no longer exists.

Applications can be submitted at a local Office of Employment and Training. When filing a claim, self-employed individuals should bring a copy of their 2010 income tax return. Other applicants need a photo identification card and their Social Security number.

The filing deadline is June 24 for disaster survivors in Boyd, Crittenden, Graves, Hardin, Hickman, Jefferson, Marshall, McCracken, Livingston, Union and Webster counties.

A filing deadline has not been set for disaster survivors in Ballard, Daviess, Henderson, Lawrence, McLean and Pike counties.

Joint damage assessments continue in other counties and additional counties may be added for IA. Residents that suffered storm and flood related damage are encouraged to document and photo the damage and keep any repair receipts. Please report any damage to your local emergency management.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.


Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top