Main Content

Burleigh County Added to Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
June 2, 2011
Release Number: 

Bismarck, N.D. – Burleigh County was added Thursday, June 2, to the federal disaster declaration issued by President Obama on May 10 in response to North Dakota flooding beginning Feb. 14 and continuing.

As a result of the declaration, federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by flooding.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and tribes within the state.

The following counties were included in the original disaster declaration: Barnes, Benson, Bottineau, Burke, Cass, Cavalier, Dickey, Eddy, Foster, Grand Forks, Grant, Griggs, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, McIntosh, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Nelson, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Renville, Richland, Rolette, Sargent, Sheridan, Steele, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Walsh, Ward, Wells and Williams. Also included were the Spirit Lake Nation, the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Reservation.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: