Five Additional Tennessee Counties Designated For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 1, 2011
Release Number: 

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – More Tennessee counties are eligible for assistance for losses due to the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and associated flooding from April 25 to April 28, 2011. The Federal Emergency Management Agency approved five more counties for Individual Assistance and 25 more counties for Public Assistance.

The addition of Carroll, Crockett, Hardin, Henry and Madison counties brings to 15 the total number of counties designated for Individual Assistance under the May 1 declaration. Counties previously designated are Bledsoe, Bradley, Cocke, Greene, Hamilton, Johnson, McMinn, Monroe, Rhea and Washington. 

FEMA Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters may include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to eligible survivors to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

The first step for individuals and businesses in the designated counties toward obtaining recovery assistance is to register with FEMA:

  • By phone, call 800-621-FEMA (3362) from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time. Assistance is available in many languages. Those who are deaf, hard of hearing or who have a speech disability may use    TTY 800-462-7585.
  • By computer, go online to
  • By smartphone or tablet, use

To access federal help, survivors must register directly with FEMA. Registering with any other program or organization does not meet the requirement to register with FEMA.

Public Assistance

Government entities and certain private non-profits in Benton, Bledsoe, Bradley, Carroll, Chester, Cocke, Crockett, Fayette, Gibson, Greene, Hamilton, Hardeman, Hardin, Henderson, Henry, Johnson, Lake, Madison, McMinn, McNairy, Monroe, Rhea, Shelby, Washington and Weakley are now eligible to receive federal reimbursement for all categories of FEMA’s Public Assistance program. Previously, Bradley, Greene, Hamilton and Washington Counties were declared eligible for just categories A (debris removal) and B (emergency protective measures).

The designation for public assistance means eligible entities in the declared counties can apply for reimbursement of certain expenses related to the disaster response and recovery. The declaration makes FEMA’s Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, which provides grants to implement long-term hazard mitigation measures after a disaster, available statewide.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top