Apply For Assistance Even If You Have Insurance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 31, 2011
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- All Georgia residents affected by the April 27-28 storms, even those with insurance, should register for assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

“In some instances residents may be eligible for assistance even though they have insurance,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Gracia Szczech. “Some expenses are not covered by insurance and some policies may pay only a portion of the value of the home.”

If insurance is available but has not been paid at the time of registration, the applicant may receive a letter from FEMA stating that assistance cannot be determined until insurance amounts have been settled. When all insurance settlements have been received, disaster assistance may be available to cover the difference between actual losses and insurance coverage. In such event, applicants should follow directions on the FEMA letter and submit proof of the insurance settlement.

By law, FEMA cannot duplicate what insurance already covers, and it cannot pay deductibles.

In addition, low-interest disaster loans are available from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for homeowners and renters as well as for business owners.

“We’re committed to ensuring that every survivor receives every penny of assistance for which he or she is eligible,” said State Coordinating Officer Charley English with the Georgia Emergency Management Agency. “Those who have not registered with FEMA for whatever reason risk losing that assistance. Once you’re in the system, you can apply for additional help, get answers to questions and stay updated on your registration.”

Registration deadline is June 28.

To register, call FEMA from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for individuals with speech or hearing disabilities.
Registration is also available 24 hours a day at or on a smart phone and other mobile devices at

For more information on FEMA determination letters, go to

Residents of the following counties are eligible for individual disaster assistance: Bartow, Catoosa, Cherokee, Coweta, Dade, Greene, Habersham, Harris, Heard, Floyd, Gordon, Lamar, Lumpkin, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Pickens, Polk, Rabun, Spalding, Troup and Upson, Walker and White.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top