Main Content

Emergency Declaration Expanded to Address Missouri River Flooding

Main Content
Release date: 
May 28, 2011
Release Number: 

Bismarck, N.D. – The Federal Emergency Declaration that was issued by President Obama on April 7 to assist North Dakota’s statewide flood fight has been expanded to include Burleigh, Emmons, Mercer, McLean, Morton, Oliver and Sioux Counties and the reservation of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe. 

“With major flooding on the Missouri River and the announcement of greatly increased releases from Garrison Dam, downstream areas are facing a serious flood threat,” said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Willie Nunn. “This declaration allows the federal government to provide search-and-rescue resources as well as any other lifesaving needs requested by the state.”

Under the declaration FEMA directs federal assets to provide assistance based on requests from the state.  Numerous federal agencies have been involved in functions ranging from search-and-rescue operations to law enforcement to interoperable communications.

The emergency declaration now includes a total of 21 North Dakota counties and two reservations: Barnes, Benson, Burleigh, Cass, Emmons, Eddy, Grand Forks, Mercer, McLean, Morton, Nelson, Oliver, Pembina, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Sioux, Towner, Traill, Walsh and Ward Counties and the reservations of the Spirit Lake Nation and Standing Rock Sioux Tribe. 

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: