Main Content

Disaster Recovery Centers Opening In Union And Webster Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
May 27, 2011
Release Number: 

Frankfort, Ky. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will open Disaster Recovery Centers in Union and Webster counties Tuesday, May 31 at 1 p.m. to help people affected by the recent severe storms, tornadoes and flooding.

Representatives from U.S. Small Business Administration and FEMA will be available to explain assistance programs and help survivors apply for disaster aid.

“Disaster Recovery Centers are a great way for disaster survivors to have questions answered and to meet face-to-face with recovery experts,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Steve Ward.

The locations for the centers are:

Union County:
Union County Public Library
126 South Morgan Street
Morganfield, KY 42437
Webster County:
911 Operating Center
9100 State Route 132 West
Clay, KY 42404

The centers will be open from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Friday and from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Saturday and will be closed on Sunday. The centers will be open for one week, closing permanently at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, June 7.

Federal disaster assistance can include grants for rental assistance and home repairs, low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help recover from the effects of the disaster.

Before going to a center, people with storm losses are encouraged to register with FEMA online at or call 800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with speech or hearing impairment may call (TTY) 800-462-7585. Help is available in most languages.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top