St. Louis County Disaster Recovery Center Transitions To a Disaster Loan Outreach Center

Main Content
Release date: 
May 24, 2011
Release Number: 

Columbia, Mo. –The Federal/State Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) in Cottonwood Plaza at 10427 W. Florissant Ave., in Ferguson, Missouri, will transition to a U.S. Small Business Administration Disaster Loan Outreach Center (DLOC) on Friday, May 27. The DLOC will be open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday, and will be closed on Monday, May 30, in observance of Memorial Day.

St. Louis County residents may continue to receive assistance by calling FEMA’s Help Line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) between the hours of 7 a.m. through 10 p.m. seven days a week.

SBA representatives at the DLOC will provide homeowners, renters and business owners with one-on-one assistance in completing their SBA loan applications, answering questions about SBA's loan programs and explaining how an SBA disaster loan can help pay for their disaster losses.

SBA low interest disaster assistance loans up to $200,000 are available to homeowners to repair or replace damaged or destroyed real estate.  Homeowners and renters are eligible for up to $40,000 from SBA to repair or replace damaged or destroyed personal property.

Businesses of any size and private non-profit organizations may borrow up to $2 million to repair or replace damaged or destroyed real estate, machinery and equipment, inventory and other business assets.

If you are unable to visit the DLOC you may contact the SBA Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 (TTY at 1-800-877-8339), or online at

"The transition of the Disaster Recovery Center to a DLOC offers an opportunity for continued support and information on SBA disaster assistance loans," said Federal Coordinating Officer Libby Turner. "FEMA and its federal, state, local and tribal partners continue working to meet the long-term needs of Missourians," said Turner.

 “This has been a challenging and difficult time for many residents trying to put their lives back together after this terrible disaster,” said SBA Public Information Officer Michael D. Flores. “The SBA is strongly committed to serving the needs of the state of Missouri.”

FEMA and the SBA continue to provide assistance at the following DRC locations:

Mississippi County DRC
Charleston High School
604 S. Thorn St.
Charleston, MO 63834

Taney County DRC
Community Center
294 Esplanade St.
Hollister, MO 65672

Butler County DRC
Three Rivers Community College
2080 Three Rivers Blvd.
Rooms A202 and A203
Poplar bluff, MO 63901

New Madrid County DRC
Morehouse Fire Department
105 E. Beech St.
Morehouse, MO 63838

All DRCs are open Monday through Saturday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. until further notice.

You are encouraged to register with FEMA before visiting a DRC. Online registration is available at Smartphone users are encouraged to register at http://  If you prefer to call, the FEMA registration line is 800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 800-462-7585 for the hearing- or speech-impaired. Telephone registration may be done from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time, seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual operators are available.

Representatives from FEMA’s individual assistance and mitigation programs will be available at the DRCs, along with SBA Customer Service Representatives, to explain assistance programs and help those affected apply for disaster aid. Recovery specialists can also help with referral information to other assistance programs.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens an...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top