Main Content

36 Mississippi Counties Now Eligible For Public Assistance

Release date: 
May 24, 2011
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. -- Thirty-six Mississippi counties affected by the severe storms, flooding and tornadoes April 15-28 are now eligible for public assistance reimbursement through FEMA.

Public Assistance provides grants, on a cost-sharing basis, to help communities recover from the storms and flooding. Grants help pay for emergency protective measures such as first responder overtime, debris removal from public roads and rights-of-way, and permanent repairs to roads, bridges and public buildings.  The grant covers 75 percent of the approved eligible cost.  Eligible costs include: debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairs to road systems, bridges, public-owned buildings, water control facilities, public-utility systems, parks and recreational facilities.

The counties included for public assistance grants are: Alcorn, Attala, Benton, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clarke, Clay, DeSoto, Greene, Hinds, Holmes, Itawamba, Jasper, Kemper, Lafayette, Lee, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Panola, Prentiss, Quitman, Scott, Smith, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Tunica, Union, Webster and Winston.

Application procedures for the state, tribal and eligible local governments will be explained at a series of federal/state applicant briefings with location to be announced in the affected area by recovery officials. Approved public repair projects are paid through the state from funding provided by FEMA and other participating federal agencies.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: