Two Additional Missouri Counties Approved For Federal Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
May 22, 2011
Release Number: 

COLUMBIA, Mo. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) said today that federal disaster assistance has been extended to two additional Missouri counties as a result of the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that began hitting the state April 19.

Jasper and Newton join the 13 counties that have already been designated for Federal Individual Assistance under the presidential disaster declaration. These are Butler, Cape Girardeau, Howell, McDonald, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pulaski, Ripley, Scott, Stoddard, St. Louis, Stone and Taney counties.

"We're happy to announce that assistance to individuals and families will soon be available to eligible Missourians in two more counties," said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Libby Turner.

Anyone who had disaster-related damage and loss can register online anytime at You may also register by calling the toll-free Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) registration line at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 800-462-7585 for the hearing or speech-impaired.  The hours are from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time, seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual operators are available
Smartphone users are encouraged to register at

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top