Main Content

FEMA Inspectors Visiting Affected Kentucky Communities

Release date: 
May 20, 2011
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Inspectors from the Federal Emergency Management Agency are contacting disaster survivors who suffered damage to their home or rental residence from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding ?beginning on April 22, 2011. FEMA inspectors are not wearing FEMA clothing but will have valid identification with their name and photograph. They will not ask residents for personal financial information like social security numbers or bank account information.

FEMA inspectors will not typically approach applicants who have not first registered with FEMA. When inspectors call or visit affected residents, they may confirm details of a registration including the address of the damaged property. FEMA inspections are free, and FEMA inspectors will never ask for money.

Renters, homeowners and business owners who suffered losses in 11 Kentucky designated Individual Assistance counties may be eligible for federal disaster assistance. Those counties are Boyd, Crittenden, Graves, Hardin, Hickman, Jefferson, Marshall, McCracken, Livingston, Union and Webster.

After individuals register for assistance with FEMA, they will receive a nine digit application number. A FEMA inspector will then call applicants to schedule a property inspection.

The visit from a FEMA inspector will typically take about 30 minutes. The inspector will assess damage to both housing and personal property and may take photos of the interior and exterior of the damaged building. The inspector will also ask for identification and proof of occupancy. Residents can speed up the process by having all the necessary information on hand:

  • Identification, which could include a state-issued ID or passport
  • Proof of residence, which could include a utility bill with the address of the damaged home, pay stubs addressed to the applicant at the damaged property, or a current driver?s license showing the address of the damaged property.

To register for disaster assistance, by phone, the number is toll-free 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585 for callers with speech or hearing impairments. To register online, go to, or via smartphone at The toll-free numbers are available seven days a week, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., until further notice.

Joint damage assessments continue in other counties and additional counties may be added for IA. Residents that suffered storm and flood related damage are encouraged to document and photo the damage and keep any repair receipts. Please report any damage to you local emergency management.

FEMA's housing assistance and Other Needs Assistance grants for medical, dental, and funeral expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be considered for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.  Applicants who do not qualify for a SBA loan may be eligible to receive Other Needs Assistance grants for these items.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: