Main Content

Eleven More Kentucky Counties Eligible For FEMA Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 19, 2011
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky  — Eleven additional Kentucky counties have been added to the federal disaster declaration made on May 4, 2011. The counties of Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Edmonson, Elliott, Graves, Logan, Lyon, Monroe, Todd and Trigg are now eligible for federal Public Assistance funds to remove debris and help rebuild infrastructure and other public facilities damaged during the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding. In addition, Fulton and Union counties are now eligible for assistance for emergency work and repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

In total, 55 Kentucky counties are eligible for FEMA Public Assistance.

“These additional counties have been added as a result of the damage assessments FEMA, KYEM and local partners are continuing to conduct in the Commonwealth,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Steve Ward. Director of Kentucky Emergency management, John Heltzel, commented, “We appreciate the hard work that has gone into getting these additional counties added and we will continue to seek assistance to all who are determined eligible.”

FEMA Public Assistance is available to governments and certain private nonprofit agencies in the following Kentucky counties: Anderson, Bath, Boone, Boyd, Bracken, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Campbell, Carroll, Carter, Clay, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Franklin, Fulton, Gallatin, Grant, Graves, Green, Greenup, Harlan, Henry, Kenton, Lawrence, Lee, Lewis, Logan, Lyon, Mason, Mercer, Monroe, Morgan, Nicholas, Oldham, Owen, Owsley, Pendleton, Robertson, Spencer, Todd, Trigg, Trimble, Union, Washington.

FEMA Public Assistance funds are also available to Ballard, Carlisle, Crittenden, Daviess, Henderson, Hickman, Livingston and McCracken for emergency protective measures, limited to direct federal assistance under the Public Assistance program.

Under FEMA’s Public Assistance program, FEMA funds at least 75 percent of the cost of eligible work by governments and certain private nonprofits. In addition, federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation efforts in all counties in the Commonwealth.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.


Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: