Main Content

Disaster Recovery Centers Open In Bolivar And Tishomingo Counties; Smithville Center Relocates

Release date: 
May 18, 2011
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. -- State and federal Disaster Recovery Centers opened Monday in Cleveland in Bolivar County and in Belmont in Tishomingo County. The centers are open to help people whose homes or businesses were affected by recent river flooding, storms and tornadoes.  

Also, in Monroe County operations at the Smithville center are being transferred to the Amory center at 60416 Hatley-Detroit Rd., which is located eight miles from Smithville.

The Cleveland center is at the Bolivar County Emergency Operations Center, 114 South St.  The Belmont center is in the Blue Springs Lodge at 1 Summer St.
Until further notice, the centers are open from 9 a.m. – 7 p.m. Monday thru Saturday and closed on Sundays.  Additional recovery centers will open in other counties in the near future for survivors who suffered losses from storms, tornadoes and flooding.

Twenty-nine counties were designated for individual assistance from the storms, tornadoes and related flooding that occurred April 15-28.  A second declaration was issued May 11 and provided for assistance to residents in 14 counties affected by the Mississippi River flooding.  Three counties – Coahoma, DeSoto and Tunica -- were named in both declarations.

Counties currently designated for assistance to individuals are: Adams, Alcorn, Attala, Bolivar, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clarke, Claiborne, Clay, Coahoma, DeSoto, Greene, Grenada, Hinds, Humphreys, Holmes, Issaquena, Jasper, Jefferson, Kemper, Lafayette, Leflore, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Neshoba, Newton, Panola, Quitman, Sharkey, Smith, Sunflower, Tishomingo, Tunica, Warren, Washington, Webster, Wilkinson, Winston and Yazoo.  Residents who suffered flood- and storm-related losses may visit any center for assistance or register by phone or the internet. A locator for the centers can be found at

Emergency management experts from the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency, Federal Emergency Management Agency, U.S. Small Business Administration and other agencies will staff the centers to explain disaster assistance programs. Before visiting a center, people with storm-related losses should register with FEMA by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or online at Help is available in most languages. Those with speech or hearing impairment can call (TTY) 800-462-7585.

Persons affected by the storms also can apply for federal assistance through a web-enabled mobile device or smartphone. Visit and follow the link to apply online for federal assistance and other recovery help.

Disaster Recovery Centers providing assistance.

Bolivar County
Bolivar Co. Emergency
Operations Center
114 South St.
Cleveland, MS 39194

Chickasaw County
Houston Civic Center
635 Starkville Rd.
Houston, MS 38851

Clay County
Pheba Voting Precinct
21523 Hwy. 50 West
Pheba, MS 39755

DeSoto County
DeSoto Tourists & Visitors Ctr.
4716 Pepper Chase Dr.
Southaven, MS. 38671

Greene County
Leakesville Community Center
1627 Center St.
Leakesville, MS 39451
Hinds County
Golden Keys Community Cntr.
3450 Albemarle Rd.
Jackson, MS 39213

Hinds County
Clinton Public Works Facilities
527 Spring Ridge Rd.
Clinton, MS 39056

Jasper & Clarke Counties
Enterprise Townhall
500 S. River Rd.
Enterprise, MS 39330

Kemper County
Kemper C...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: