Five Counties Added To Federal Disaster Assistance Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
May 16, 2011
Release Number: 

DOWNERS GROVE, Ill. -- Five more Illinois counties were designated for Public Assistance (PA) today in the wake of the severe winter storm and snowstorm during the period of Jan. 31 to Feb. 3.

The newly designated counties are Grundy, Livingston, McLean, Sangamon and Stephenson. This brings the total number of designated counties for infrastructure losses to 65, according to officials from the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

This opens the door to federal reimbursement for state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in the designated counties for eligible disaster-related infrastructure costs.  In addition, assistance is available for emergency protective measures, including snow assistance, for a continuous 48-hour period during or proximate to the incident period in these counties

Under the cost-share program, FEMA funds 75 percent of the approved cost for eligible work, such as debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, bridges, buildings, utilities and recreation areas. The state manages the grants for all projects. 

The original 60 counties designated in the March 17 declaration are Adams, Bond, Boone, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Christian, Clark, Clay, Coles, Cook, Crawford, Cumberland, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Edgar, Effingham, Fayette, Ford, Fulton, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jasper, Jo Daviess, Kane, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Lee, Logan, Marion, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Menard, Mercer, Morgan, Moultrie, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Richland, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Washington, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford.

The State held 13 Applicants' Briefings between March 25 and April 6 to explain the PA application process. State personnel will contact the local community officials in each of the newly designated counties to provide similar information.

Follow FEMA online at,,, and  Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate's activities at  The social media links provided are for reference only. 

FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.  FEMA does not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.                       

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top