Ten Tornado Disaster Recovery Centers Now Open In Mississippi

Main Content
Release date: 
May 11, 2011
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. -- A state and federal Disaster Recovery Center opened Thursday in the city of Pheba in Clay County, bringing the total number of centers to 10. These centers are open to help people whose homes or businesses were affected by recent storms and tornadoes. 

All centers are open seven days a week from 7 a.m.- 7 p.m. until further notice with the exception of the center in Water Valley which has shortened hours of 1 p.m to 5 p.m on Sundays    Additional recovery  centers will open in other counties in the near future  for survivors who suffered losses resulting from the storms, tornadoes and flooding events of April 15-28.

Counties currently designated for assistance to individuals are: Alcorn, Attala, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clarke, Clay, Coahoma, DeSoto, Greene, Grenada, Hinds, Holmes, Jasper, Kemper, Lafayette, Leflore, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Neshoba, Newton, Panola, Quitman, Smith, Sunflower, Tishomingo, Tunica, Webster and Winston.  Residents who suffered storm-related losses in these counties may visit any center for assistance, register by phone or the internet.

Emergency management experts from the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency, Federal Emergency Management Agency, U.S. Small Business Administration and other agencies will staff the centers to explain disaster assistance programs. Before visiting a center, people with storm-related losses should register with FEMA by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov. Help is available in most languages. Those with speech or hearing impairment may call (TTY) 800-462-7585.

 Disaster Recovery Centers currently providing recovery assistance:

Chickasaw County
Houston Civic Center
635 Starkville Rd.
Houston, MS 38851

Hinds County
Golden Keys Community Cntr.
3450 Albemarle Rd.
Jackson, MS 39213

Kemper County
Kemper County Sheriff Dept Conference Room
330 Stennis Industrial Rd.
DeKalb, MS 39328

Clay County
Pheba Voting Precinct
21523 Hwy. 50 West
Pheba, MS 39755

Hinds County
Clinton Public Works Facilities
527 Spring Ridge Rd.
Clinton, MS 39056

Lafayette County
Anchor Baptist Church
1009 Hwy. 7 South
Water Valley, MS 38965

Greene County
Leakesville Community Center
1627 Center St.
Leakesville, MS 39451

Jasper & Clarke Counties
Enterprise Townhall
500 S. River Rd.
Enterprise, MS 39330

Monroe County
Intersection of Hwy 23 & Hwy 25
Smithville, MS 38870

Webster & Choctaw Counties
Mathiston Public Library
298 Scott St.
Mathiston, MS 39752

Individual assistance for eligible homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for rental housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs. Representatives are available to explain the full range of application options available including assistance for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses.

Low-interest loans from the Small Business Administration are available for eligible applicants to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.  Among the options are assistance for replacement of personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our ...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top