Main Content

Disaster Recovery Centers Open To Assist Residents

Main Content
Release date: 
May 9, 2011
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) are now open in 13 counties in Georgia to help people whose homes or businesses were affected by recent storms and tornadoes. Hours for the centers are 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

Survivors can find the closest center by using the online disaster recovery center locator at or on a Web-enabled mobile device or smartphone. 

Representatives from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, Georgia Emergency Management Agency and other agencies are available to explain assistance programs and help survivors apply for disaster aid. Recovery specialists also can help disaster survivors with referrals to other assistance programs.

Before going to a center, people with storm losses are encouraged to register with FEMA online at or call 800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with speech or hearing functional needs can call (TTY) 800-462-7585. Help is available in most languages.

Persons affected by the storms can also apply for federal assistance directly through a Web-enabled mobile device or smartphone by visiting

Federal disaster assistance can include grants for rental assistance and home repairs, low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help survivors recover from the effects of the disaster.

DRCs are located at the following addresses:

Bartow County
Clarence Brown Conference Center
5450 Highway 20
Cartersville, GA 30120]

Catoosa County
Catoosa County Learning Center
36 Muscogee Trail
Ringgold, GA 30736

Dade County
Dade County Board of Commissioners Room
71 Case Ave.
Trenton, GA 30752

Floyd County
Hamler Gym
300 W. 3rd St.
Rome, GA 30161

Greene and Morgan counties
Morgan County Recreation Gym
1253 College Drive
Madison, GA 30650

Lamar and Monroe counties
Lamar County Service Center
118 Academy Drive
Barnesville, GA 30204

Meriwether County
Callaway Community Center
Kersey Park
121 Perry St.
Manchester, GA 31816

Pickens County
Pickens County Admin/EOC
1266 E. Church St.
Jasper, GA 330143

Polk County
EMA/Fire Department
55 Cline Ingram Jackson Road
Cedartown, GA 30125

Rabun County
Clayton City Hall
837 Highway 76 West
Clayton, GA 30525

Spalding County      
Voter Registrar's Office
819 Memorial Drive
Griffin, GA 30223

Troup County
Mike Daniel Recreation Center
1220 LaFayette Parkway
LaGrange, GA 30241

Walker County
Walker County Agricultural Center
10058 N. Highway 27
Rock Springs, GA 30739

For more information on Georgia's disaster recovery, visit or or or  or

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top