Public Assistance Authorized For Eight Additional Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
May 8, 2011
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Federal Public Assistance (PA) ? aid to local, county and state agencies ? has been approved for eight more Georgia counties affected by the tornadoes, storms and flooding on April 27 and 28. ?Cherokee, Gordon, Harris, Heard, Jasper, Lumpkin, Newton and White counties bring to 24 the number of counties eligible to receive PA disaster funds.

The following 22 counties are now eligible for PA categories A through G: Bartow, Catoosa, Cherokee, Dade, Floyd, Gordon, Greene, Harris, Heard, Jasper, Lamar, Lumpkin, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Pickens, Rabun, Spalding, Troup, Walker and White.

The categories are:
A ? debris removal
B ? emergency protective measures
C ? ?road systems and bridges
D ? water control facilities
E ? ?public buildings, contents and equipment
F ?? utilities
G ? parks and recreational facilities

Two counties ? Coweta and Polk ? are eligible for categories A and B only.

For approved PA projects, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will pay a minimum of 75 percent of approved project costs.

Qualified private non-profit organizations may receive assistance to restore certain kinds of facilities. These include utilities; educational, emergency, medical, and custodial care facilities; and other structures used to provide essential governmental services.

For more information on Georgia's disaster recovery, visit or or or or

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top