Many Ways To Register For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 7, 2011
Release Number: 

ATLANTA - To help survivors of the recent storms and tornadoes in Alabama, there are now multiple ways to apply for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for rental housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.

No matter the degree of loss, survivors are urged to register with FEMA; and they can use the following methods:

  • By phone, call 800-621-FEMA (800-321-3362) from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time. Operators are multilingual.  For the speech or hearing impaired, the number is

   TTY 800-462-7585.

  • By smartphone or tablet, use

When registering, you will need the following information:

  1. Social Security number.
  2. Current mailing address.
  3. Address of the damaged property.
  4. A brief description of the damages.
  5. Any insurance information, including the policy number and the name of your agent. A phone number where you can be reached.

Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are also available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Affected survivors and business owners in the 41 designated counties may apply for assistance. Those counties are: Autauga, Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Chilton, Choctaw, Clarke, Colbert, Coosa, Cullman, DeKalb, Elmore, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Hale, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marengo, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Perry, Pickens, Shelby, St. Clair, Sumter, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker, Washington and Winston.

If you receive an application for a low-interest disaster loan, please fill it out and return it. Returning the application does not obligate you to accept an SBA loan, but the application must be filled out in order to be considered for other types of disaster assistance. 

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.


For more information on Alabama’s disaster recovery, visit or

For the joint Facebook page, go to To receive Twitter updates:  or w...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top