Disaster Recovery Centers Hours Of Operation Vary On Mother's Day

Main Content
Release date: 
May 7, 2011
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Although Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) in Georgia counties declared eligible for disaster assistance are scheduled to be open seven days a week from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., there are several that will operate on a different schedule on Mother’s Day, May 8

Two DRCs are open from 1 p.m. to 7 p.m.:

Spalding County                                          
Voter Registrar’s Office                          
819 Memorial Drive                                      
Griffin, GA  30223                                        

Walker County
Walker County Agricultural Center       
10058 North Highway 27
Rock Springs, GA  30739

All other DRC locations -- Bartow, Catoosa, Floyd, Lamar, Monroe, Meriwether, Morgan and Greene, Pickens, Rabun and Troup -- will operate from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Individuals and business owners visiting any of the centers are asked to first register for assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (the hearing or speech impaired can call 1-800-462-7585) from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time.  An application may also be completed online at www.disasterassistance.gov.

Applications may also be completed through a Web-enabled mobile device or smartphone. 
More centers will open soon in other counties designated for federal assistance. Survivors can find the closest center by using the online disaster recovery center locator at http://asd.fema.gov/inter/locator/home.htm or m.fema.gov

Federal disaster assistance can include grants for rental assistance and home repairs, low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help recover from the effects of the disaster.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top