Main Content

Hampden County Massachusetts Designated For Snow Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 3, 2011
Release Number: 

WESTFIELD, Mass. -- Federal disaster assistance has been designated for Hampden County to help local governments and eligible private nonprofit organizations recover costs accrued during the January 11-12, 2011 severe winter storm and snowstorm the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

Assistance for Hampden County was approved following a review of data gathered by federal and commonwealth disaster recovery officials. Berkshire, Essex, Hampshire, Middlesex, Norfolk, and Suffolk counties were previously approved in March for assistance for this storm. 

Under this assistance, affected local governments and qualified nonprofits in Hampden County are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved eligible costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures, including snow removal, for a continuous 48-hour period during the storm.

Procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained at an applicant briefing for local officials at a location to be announced shortly by commonwealth and federal disaster officials.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders and to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: