Three More Alabama Counties Designated For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 2, 2011
Release Number: 

ATLANTA -- Three more counties have been designated for disaster assistance for individuals, families and businesses as part of Alabama's federal disaster declaration, according to Federal Emergency Management Agency officials. The latest declared counties are Colbert, Morgan and Winston.

Alabama counties previously designated for individual assistance are Autauga, Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, Choctaw, Cullman, DeKalb, Elmore, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Hale, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marengo, Marion, Marshall, St. Clair, Sumter, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker and Washington counties.

Individual assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for rental housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are also available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Affected survivors and business owners in the newly designated counties may apply for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number, 800-621-FEMA (3362). The hearing or speech impaired can use the TTY line at 800-462-7585. The registration lines are available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time. An application may be completed online by going to

Survivors can also apply for federal assistance through their Web-enabled mobile devices or smartphones. Visit and follow the link to to apply.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top