Harris, Heard, Gordon And Lumpkin Counties Designated For Georgia Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 2, 2011
Release Number: 

ATLANTA -- Four additional counties have been designated for disaster assistance for individuals, families and businesses as part of Georgia's federal disaster declaration for the recent storms and tornadoes.

The latest declared counties are Harris, Heard, Gordon and Lumpkin. This brings the total number of counties approved for assistance to individuals to 20.

Counties previously designated for individual assistance are Bartow, Catoosa, Coweta, Dade, Floyd, Greene, Lamar, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Pickens, Polk, Rabun, Spalding, Troup and Walker.

Individual assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for rental housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs. Also low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Affected survivors and business owners in the newly designated counties may apply for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number, 800-621-FEMA (3362). The hearing or speech impaired can use the TTY line at 800-462-7585. The registration lines are available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time. An application may also be completed online by going to www.DisasterAssistance.gov.

Survivors can also apply for federal assistance directly through their Web-enabled mobile devices or smartphones. Visit m.fema.gov and follow the link to www.DisasterAssistance.gov to apply for federal assistance.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top