Main Content

Federal Disaster Assistance Available To Georgia Survivors

Main Content
Release date: 
April 30, 2011
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Survivors of the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding from April 27-28 in Georgia should apply now for federal assistance.

The Presidential declaration on April 29 made funding available to affected individuals in Bartow, Catoosa, Dade, Floyd, Polk, Spalding and Walker counties.

Assistance is available in the form of grants for temporary housing, basic home repairs, other serious disaster-related needs, and low-interest disaster loans. Renters, homeowners and business owners may apply for help through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

However, you must register first. The process takes 15 to 30 minutes.

You can apply for federal assistance directly through Web-enabled mobile phone devices or smartphones. Registration through the mobile site takes three steps:

  1. Go to and click “Apply Online for FEMA Assistance.” You will be directed to;
  2. Click on Start Registration; and
  3. Fill out the registration form.

You can also register online at or call 800-621-FEMA (3362). Operators speak many languages. Those with hearing or speech impairment can use TTY 800-462-7585.

FEMA will ask you for the following information:

  • The telephone number where you can be reached;
  • The address where you lived at the time of the disaster and the address where you are staying;
  • Your Social Security number;
  • A general description of damage to your property and other losses;
  • The name of your insurance company and your policy number or agent if you have property insurance; and
  • Your bank account routing information if you want FEMA to use direct deposit.

The toll-free FEMA registration numbers are available seven days a week from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time.

Individual assistance helps eligible applicants with temporary housing assistance, uninsured personal property losses and medical, dental and funeral expenses caused by the disaster, along with other disaster-related expenses and serious needs. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not covered by insurance.

Federal funding also is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis in the counties of Bartow, Catoosa, Coweta, Dade, Floyd, Greene, Lamar, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Pickens, Polk, Rabun, Spalding, Troup and Walker for debris removal and emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: