Eight Additional Counties Designated For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
April 21, 2011
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Eight additional counties have been designated for disaster assistance to households and businesses as part of North Carolina's federal disaster declaration, according to officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.  The latest counties are Craven, Currituck, Greene, Hertford, Hoke, Pitt, Robeson and Sampson.

Counties previously designated are Bertie, Bladen, Cumberland, Halifax, Harnett, Johnston, Lee, Onslow, Wake and Wilson.

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.  Also low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and businesses losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Affected survivors and business owners in the newly designated counties may apply for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number, 800-621-FEMA (3362). The hearing or speech impaired can use the TTY line at 800-462-7585. The registration lines are available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time. An application may also be completed online by going to www.disasterassistance.gov.

Survivors can also apply for federal assistance directly through their web enabled mobile phone devices or smartphones. Visit m.fema.gov and follow the link to www.disasterassistance.gov to apply for federal assistance.

Registration through the mobile site takes three steps:

  1. Go to m.fema.gov and click "Apply Online for FEMA Assistance."  You will be directed to our partner site, www.disasterassistance.gov
  2. Click on "Start Registration"
  3. Fill out the registration form

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top