Deadline Approaching To Request FEMA Infrastructure Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
April 20, 2011
Release Number: 

DENTON, Texas -- The deadline is quickly approaching for state agencies, tribal, pueblo and local governments, and certain private nonprofit organizations in New Mexico to ask for disaster assistance.

President Obama signed New Mexico’s major disaster declaration on March 24 for Lincoln, Otero, Rio Arriba, Sierra, Socorro and Taos counties and the tribal and pueblo governments of the Mescalero Apache Tribe, Santa Ana Pueblo, Taos Pueblo and the Rio Arriba County portions of Santa Clara Pueblo.

Monday, April 25 is the deadline for applicants initially designated in the major disaster declaration to request federal assistance, according to officials with the New Mexico Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (DHSEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

“Filing a request for infrastructure assistance is the first step in the process of applying for federal reimbursements under FEMA’s Public Assistance (PA) Grant Program,” said Michael S. Duvall, Cabinet Secretary for DHSEM. 

Applicants must file their requests within 30 days of a Public Assistance designation to a presidential disaster declaration. Any counties or tribal and pueblo governments that are added to a declaration will have 30 days from the time they are officially included.  

On April 15, the San Felipe, Picuris and Pojoaque Pueblos and the remaining portions of Santa Clara Pueblo were added to the declaration. These newly designated pueblos have until Monday, May 16 to file assistance requests.

“Public Assistance grants reimburse applicants for eligible expenses incurred during the winter storm,” added FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Thomas J. McCool. “The funding helps with emergency measures taken to protect lives and property, clean up of the impacted areas, and the repair of public infrastructure.”

Hazard Mitigation funding is available statewide. DHSEM administers the Public Assistance program, which is funded by FEMA.  FEMA reimburses 75 percent of eligible costs.  

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.  

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top