Main Content

More Pueblos Added to Major Disaster Declaration in New Mexico

Main Content
Release date: 
April 15, 2011
Release Number: 

DENTON, Texas -- Three more Pueblos and the remaining portions of one Pueblo are now eligible for federal assistance in New Mexico, as that state continues to recover from the damages and losses caused by a winter storm from earlier this year.

The San Felipe, Picuris and Pojoaque Pueblos and now all of the Santa Clara Pueblo join the counties, Tribal and Pueblo governments, and some nonprofit agencies already eligible to receive federal funding for infrastructure repairs and reimbursement for emergency costs, according to officials with the New Mexico Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (DHSEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

"The addition of these Pueblos puts us all one step closer to recovery," said Michael S. Duvall, Cabinet Secretary for DHSEM. 

"We continue to work to make sure help reaches all the entities that need it," said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Thomas J. McCool.

President Obama signed a major disaster declaration for New Mexico on March 24 after a severe winter storm hit the state in early February.

The disaster declaration initially made Public Assistance (PA) available to state agencies, local governments, tribal nations and certain private nonprofit organizations in Lincoln, Otero, Rio Arriba, Sierra, Socorro and Taos counties and the Tribal and Pueblo governments of the Mescalero Apache Tribe, Santa Ana Pueblo, Taos Pueblo and the Rio Arriba County portions of Santa Clara Pueblo.

Hazard Mitigation funding also is available statewide. DHSEM administers the Public Assistance program, which is funded by FEMA. FEMA reimburses 75 percent of eligible costs. ?

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.? ?

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: