Main Content

Federal Emergency Declaration Expanded to Include Four Additional North Dakota Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
April 13, 2011
Release Number: 

Bismarck, N.D. – The Federal Emergency Declaration that was issued by President Obama on April 7 has been expanded to include Grand Forks, Pembina, Walsh and Ward Counties. 

“This spring’s flooding continues to unfold,” said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Willie Nunn. “As the situation has evolved we have expanded the declaration so that the federal government can provide life-saving and life-sustaining resources to these additional areas.”

The declaration allows FEMA to direct federal assets to provide assistance based on requests from the state.  Numerous federal agencies are involved in functions ranging from search and rescue operations to law enforcement to interoperable communications.

The emergency declaration now includes a total of eight North Dakota counties: Barnes, Cass, Grand Forks, Pembina, Richland, Traill, Walsh and Ward.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders and to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

The North Dakota Department of Emergency Services provides 24/7 emergency communications and resource coordination with more than 50 lead and support agencies, private enterprise, and voluntary organizations to assist local jurisdictions in disaster and emergency response activities. It administers federal disaster recovery programs and the Homeland Security Grant Program.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: