Deadline Approaches For Federal Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
April 12, 2011
Release Number: 

DOWNERS GROVE, Ill -- State and local agencies and certain private nonprofit organizations in 60 Illinois counties have very little time left to apply for federal disaster assistance.

Public Assistance (PA) funds for reimbursement or restoration are available in the wake of the severe winter storm and snowstorm during the period Jan. 31 to Feb. 3.  The March 17 presidential disaster declaration provides funds for expenses or damage incurred during the disaster such as debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair or replacement of roads, bridges, water control facilities, buildings, equipment, utilities, parks and other facilities.

Applicants have 30 days from the date of the disaster declaration to apply. Eligible agencies and certain PNP organizations must submit a Request for Public Assistance (RPA) to the State of Illinois, according to officials from the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).  The deadline to submit the one-page RPA is Saturday, April 16.

Organizations should contact IEMA at 217-782-8719 to submit an RPA.  Additional information on the PA Program is available at  To date, more than 1,450 RPAs have been submitted during a series of 13 state Applicants’ Briefings, but IEMA and FEMA officials believe there may be other eligible organizations that have yet to apply.

The main goal of FEMA's PA program is to restore eligible public facilities to their pre-disaster levels. The PA program does not provide assistance to individuals, households or businesses. Federal funds will cover 75 percent of the eligible costs for removing debris from public areas and for emergency measures taken to save lives and protect property and public health.  In addition, assistance is available in certain designated counties on a cost-sharing basis for emergency protective measures, including snow assistance, for a continuous 48 to 72 hour period during or proximate to the incident period. 

The 60 counties designated in the March 17 declaration are Adams, Bond, Boone, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Christian, Clark, Clay, Coles, Cook, Crawford, Cumberland, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Edgar, Effingham, Fayette, Ford, Fulton, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jasper, Jo Daviess, Kane, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Lee, Logan, Marion, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Menard, Mercer, Morgan, Moultrie, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Richland, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Washington, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford.

In addition, assistance is available to the state and eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for emergency protective measures, including snow assistance, for a continuous 48-hour period during or proximate to the incident period in the counties of Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Hancock, Henry, Jo Daviess, Kane, Lake, LaSalle, Lee, Logan, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, Mercer, Morgan, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford counties. This assistance will be provided for a period of 72 hours for Adams, Boone, Brown, Ford, Henderson, Knox, McHenry, Menard and Scott counties.

Follow FEMA online at,,, and  Also, follow Administrator Craig Fugate's activities at http://www.fema.g...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top