State Schedules Disaster Assistance Briefings for Local Officials

Main Content
Release date: 
March 25, 2011
Release Number: 

DOWNERS GROVE, Ill. -- State disaster officials have scheduled 13 briefings to help representatives from state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in 60 Illinois counties apply for federal disaster assistance in the wake of the severe winter storm and snowstorm during the period of Jan. 31 to Feb. 3.

The briefings will provide information about the Federal Emergency Management Agency's Public Assistance (Infrastructure) program for debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair, restoration or replacement of public facilities or infrastructure that were damaged during this event. Under the cost-share program,

FEMA Public Assistance funds 75 percent of the cost for eligible work.

The meetings will be held at the following locations, dates and times, according to officials from the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) and FEMA.  These briefings are not intended for individuals, households or business owners. 

For Adams, Brown, Calhoun, Cass, Hancock, Morgan, McDonough, Pike, Schuyler and Scott counties:
Friday, March 25, 10:30 a.m.,John Wood Community College, Paul Heath Center, Auditorium, 1301 South 48th St., Quincy

For Christian, Logan, Mason and Menard counties:
Monday, March 28, 10 a.m., Lincoln Christian Church, Fellowship Hall, 204 N. McLean St, Lincoln

For Ford, Fulton, Knox, Marshall, Peoria, Stark, Tazewell and Woodford counties:
Monday, March 28, 2 p.m., Gateway Bldg., 200 N.E. Water, Peoria

For Bureau, DeKalb, LaSalle, Lee and Putnam counties:
Tuesday, March 29, 9 a.m., Celebrations 150, 740 E. U.S. Highway 6, Utica

For Henderson, Henry, Mercer, Rock Island, Warren and Whiteside counties:
Tuesday, March 29, 2 p.m., Milan Community Center, 2701 East First St., Milan

For Boone, Carroll, Jo Daviess, Ogle and Winnebago counties:
Wednesday, March 30, 10 a.m., Cherry Valley Fire Department Station 2, 4919 Blackhawk Rd., Rockford

For DuPage, Kane and McHenry counties:
Wednesday, March 30, 2:30 p.m., Hemmens Cultural Center, 45 Symphony Way, Elgin

For Cook County:
Thursday, March 31, 9 a.m., Triton College, Robert Collins Building, 2000 Fifth Ave., River Grove

For Southern Cook and Will counties:
Thursday, March 31, 1:30 p.m., Oak Forest Hospital Campus, Auditorium Bldg. 15900 Cicero Ave., Oak Forest

For Clark, Coles, Douglas, Edgar, Moultrie and Shelby counties:
Friday, April 1, 10:30 a.m., Lake Land Community College, Student Center Theatre, 5001 Lake Land Blvd., Mattoon

For Bond, Clay, Fayette, Marion and Washington counties:
Monday, April 4, 11 a.m., Kaskaskia College, Life-Long Learning Center, 27210 College Rd., Centralia

For Crawford, Cumberland, Effingham, Jasper and Richland counties:
Tuesday, April 5, 1 p.m., Knights of Columbus, 707 South Van Buren St., Newton

For Northern Cook, Lake counties:
Wednesday, April 6, 1:30 p.m., Harper College, Performing Arts Center, 1200 W. Algonquin Rd., Palatine

The 60 counties designated in the March 17 declaration are: Adams, Bond, Boone, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Christian, Clark, Clay, Coles, Cook, Crawford, Cumberland, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Edgar, Effingham, Fayette, Ford, Fulton, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jasper, Jo Daviess, Kane, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Lee, Logan, Marion, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Menard, Mercer, Morgan, Moultrie, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Richland, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Washington, Whiteside, Wi...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top