Four New Counties Added To Federal Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
March 23, 2011
Release Number: 

LATHAM, N.Y. -- Federal assistance is now available in four additional New York State counties to help with the cost of digging out from the severe snowstorm, Dec. 26 – 27, 2010.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) said Public Assistance –aid to state and local governments, schools and certain private nonprofits – is now available in Columbia, Dutchess, Kings, and Rockland counties.

Specifically, help is available for emergency protective measures taken during a 48-hour period during the storm. Eligible costs could include plowing, sanding, employee overtime, and related expenses.

The process for requesting federal assistance, as well as eligibility requirements, is explained at applicants’ briefings led by the New York State Office of Emergency Management (NYSOEM).

Public Assistance for emergency protective measures (snow assistance) is already available in Bronx, Nassau, Rensselaer, Richmond, and Queens counties. Public assistance to repair or replace disaster-damaged facilities is also available for eligible work in Nassau and Suffolk counties.

The addition of the four counties is the result of new damage assessments requested by the state. Damage assessments are conducted by local officials and representatives of the NYSOEM and FEMA.

The federal disaster declaration that authorized disaster assistance was signed by President Obama on Feb. 18, 2011.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top