Bronx, Queens Counties Added To Federal Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
March 14, 2011
Release Number: 

LATHAM, N.Y. -- Federal assistance is now available in two additional New York counties to help with the cost of digging out from the snowstorm, Dec. 26 – 27, 2010.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today Public Assistance – aid to state and local governments, schools and certain private nonprofits – is available in Bronx and Queens counties. The two counties were added to the Major Disaster Declaration made by President Obama in mid-February.

Public Assistance is available for emergency protective measures taken during a 48-hour period during the storm. Eligible costs could include plowing, sanding, employee overtime, and related expenses.

The process for requesting federal assistance, as well as eligibility requirements, is explained at applicants' briefings led by the New York State Office of Emergency Management (NYSOEM).

Public Assistance for emergency protective measures is also available in Nassau, Suffolk, Rensselaer, and Richmond counties. Public assistance to repair or replace disaster-damaged facilities is also available for eligible work in Nassau and Suffolk counties.

The addition of the two counties is the result of new damage assessments requested by the state. Damage assessments are conducted by local, officials and representatives of the NYSOEM and FEMA.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top