Don't Prejudge Your Eligibility for Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
November 4, 2010
Release Number: 

NEW BERLIN, Wis. -- More than 30,000 residents of Grant and Milwaukee counties have applied for federal disaster assistance to help recover from severe storms, tornadoes and flooding July 20-24 since President Obama declared the counties eligible for Individual Assistance on Sept. 18. But Wisconsin Emergency Management (WEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) think there may be more disaster-affected individuals who have not applied because they think their damages do not warrant coverage. Some residents second guess their eligibility because their neighbor applied and did not qualify.

"We want to urge residents of Grant and Milwaukee counties to apply for federal disaster assistance – even if their neighbors have not qualified," said WEM Administrator Mike Hinman. "Check with FEMA to find out if your damages could be covered by Individual Assistance."

The deadline to apply for federal disaster assistance is Wednesday, Nov. 17. Apply online:, or call 1-800-621-3362/FEMA or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585.

"Residents of Grant and Milwaukee counties should allow our experts to evaluate their damages and eligibility for assistance,” FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Paul Ricciuti underscored. "Individuals may qualify for low-interest loans and other beneficial programs to augment their recovery. It would be unfortunate for a resident of Grant or Milwaukee County to miss out simply because they assumed their losses do not justify federal assistance."

Don't second guess your eligibility; apply with FEMA today.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top