Be Sure You've Registered with FEMA for Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
November 2, 2010
Release Number: 

NEW BERLIN, Wis. -- Wisconsin Emergency Management (WEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) urge residents of Grant and Milwaukee counties to ensure they have correctly registered for federal disaster assistance by the Nov. 17 deadline. Individuals may have reported damages from severe storms, tornadoes and flooding July 20-24 by calling 2-1-1 or talking with city or county emergency officials. But to be eligible for Individual Assistance, which was declared by President Obama Sept. 18, registrants must apply online at, or by calling 1-800-621-3362/FEMA or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. Those hotlines may also be called to verify existence or status of registration.

"It is important that residents of Grant and Milwaukee counties ensure they have properly registered for federal disaster aid," said WEM Administrator Mike Hinman.

 A nine-digit FEMA registration number, which is given to every applicant upon registration, is one way to verify registration.

"Calling 2-1-1 or an emergency manager does not ensure registration,” said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Paul Ricciuti. "Applications must have been filed with FEMA after Sept. 18 when President Obama declared Grant and Milwaukee counties eligible for Individual Assistance."

Register with FEMA as soon as possible.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top