Main Content

Four North Carolina Counties Added To Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
November 1, 2010
Release Number: 

ROCKY MOUNT, N.C. -- Four additional counties have been designated for disaster assistance as part of North Carolina's federal disaster declaration, according to officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

This announcement brings the total number of counties designated for Individual Assistance to 14 with today's addition of Camden, Martin, New Hanover and Washington counties. Other counties previously designated for individual assistance are Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Craven, Hertford, Jones, Onslow, Pender, Pitt and Tyrrell.

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to cover residential and businesses losses not fully covered by insurance.

Affected residents and business owners in the newly designated counties may apply for disaster assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number, 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 800-462-7585. An application may also be completed online by going to

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: