Main Content

More Than $1 Million Approved For North Carolina Disaster Survivors

Main Content
Release date: 
October 21, 2010
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. – Less than a week after North Carolina received a major disaster declaration for flooding from Tropical Storm Nicole, almost 1,300 people have registered with the Federal Emergency Management Agency for assistance and more than $1.3 million in federal grants has been approved to help storm survivors.

Anyone affected by the disaster in Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Craven, Hertford, Jones, Onslow, Pender, Pitt and Tyrrell counties is encouraged to register with FEMA. They can do so online anytime at  or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 800-462-7585 from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., seven days a week. Multilingual assistance is available at the call centers.

When registering, applicants should have the following information readily available:

  • Current and pre-disaster address;
  • Current telephone numbers;
  • Social Security number; and
  • Insurance coverage, policy number(s) and agent's name if possible.

Once registered, people may visit a disaster recovery center for more information.

North Carolina Division of Emergency Management, FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration jointly operate disaster recovery centers where specialists are available to assist survivors with their recovery process.

At the centers, registrants may speak personally with specialists, check the status of their registration or get answers to disaster-related questions. They also can get referral information about state government and local nonprofit agencies that may have additional assistance programs.

In addition, homeowners, renters, businesses and nonprofit organizations can get information about the SBA low-interest disaster loan application as well as assistance in completing applications.

The disaster recovery centers are located at:

Beaufort County: Office Building 249 N. Market St. in Washington.

Bertie County: Council on Aging 103 W. School St. in Windsor.

Craven County: County Courthouse Old Jail/2nd Floor 411 Craven St. in New Bern.

Hertford County: County Extension Center 301 W. Tryon St. in Winton.

Onslow County: Emergency Operations Center 1180 N. Commons Drive in Jacksonville.

Tyrrell County: Tyrrell Hall 906 Highway 64 E. in Columbia.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: