Eight Additional Counties Now Eligible For Federal Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
October 19, 2010
Release Number: 

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. -- Eight additional counties have been added as part of Minnesota’s federal disaster declaration and are eligible for all categories of Public Assistance funding, according to officials from the Minnesota Department of Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Under this announcement, federal funding is available to local governments and some private non-profits on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding beginning on September 22, 2010. The added counties are Brown, Carver, Le Sueur, Nicollet, Nobles, Redwood, Sibley and Yellow Medicine. These eight counties join 21 other Minnesota counties that are eligible for federal aid under the October 13 disaster declaration. They are: Blue Earth, Cottonwood, Dodge, Faribault, Freeborn, Goodhue, Jackson, Lincoln, Lyon, Martin, Mower, Murray, Olmsted, Pipestone, Rice, Rock, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca, Watonwan, and Winona.

Under FEMA’s Public Assistance program, FEMA funds at least 75 percent of the cost of eligible work by local governments and some private non-profits. Additional declarations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of damage assessments.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top