Main Content

Storm Survivors In Six North Carolina Counties Can Now Apply For Federal Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
October 15, 2010
Release Number: 

RALEIGH, N.C. -- Tropical Storm Nicole survivors in Beaufort, Bertie, Craven, Hertford, Onslow and Tyrrell counties can now apply for federal disaster assistance.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help recover from the effects of the disaster.

This is how the process works:

  • Survivors register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

 They can apply online anytime at  They also can call 800-621-FEMA (3362). The hearing or speech impaired can use the TTY line at 800-462-7585. The toll-free telephone numbers operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice. Multilingual operators are available to assist with the application process.

When applying for help, be sure to have the following information handy:

  • Current telephone number.
  • Address at the time of the disaster and current address.
  • Social Security number, if available.
  • A general list of damages and losses.
  • If insured, the name of insurance company, agent and policy number.
  • Bank account coding to speed up assistance by using direct deposit.

Survivors with questions can visit a disaster recovery center to talk one-on-one     with recovery specialists.

  • An inspection appointment is scheduled.
    • After registering, eligible survivors are called within a few days to set up an appointment with an inspector. The inspectors, who are FEMA contractors and carry identification badges, review the amaged property. They do not make a determination regarding assistance. There is no cost for the inspection.
  • Every applicant will receive a letter regarding the status of their request for federal assistance.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: