More Than $1.1 Million Obligated For Repair Of Flood-Damaged Infrastructure

Main Content
Release date: 
October 7, 2010
Release Number: 

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. -- Less than two months after a presidential disaster declaration, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has obligated more than $1.1 million to the state of Missouri for 90 projects for the repair of flood-damaged infrastructure. 

The agency’s Public Assistance (PA) program provides grant money to help local, state and tribal governments – and some non-profits – repair or rebuild public facilities and infrastructure following a presidential disaster declaration. Under the PA program, the federal government pays 75 percent of eligible, approved project costs. Approved projects from last summer’s flooding now total more than $1.5 million; the federal share (or 75 percent of approved amount) is $1,158,582.

“Helping to fund the repair and rebuilding of infrastructure is the goal of FEMA's Public Assistance program following a declared disaster,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Joe Girot. “This is a major milestone for the Missouri disaster, but the work continues. We will be here until all eligible projects are reviewed.”

Of the 90 approved projects announced today more than 75 percent are for the repair of roads, damaged culverts and bridges. Other project grants will provide reimbursement to levee districts for costs they incurred in pumping floodwaters from behind levees.  FEMA project specialists continue working with local and state officials throughout the 37 declared counties to write projects to be submitted for review and funding approval.

The PA program is administered through a coordinated effort between the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the State (grantee), and the local applicants. FEMA Public Assistance grants for approved projects are obligated to the state, which administers the funds, notifies the applicant that funds are available and disburses those funds to the applicant.

Public Assistance funding is broken down into two categories:  small projects and large projects. For small projects – less than $63,200 – payment of the federal share of the estimated cost is made upon project approval with no further accounting to FEMA required. For large projects – equal to or greater than $63,200 – costs are reimbursed on the basis of actual costs as work is accomplished. Interim payments may be made as necessary. Of these 90 projects, two are large projects; 88 are small.

On August 17, President Obama approved a disaster declaration for severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes in Missouri between June 12 and July 31, 2010. Thirty-seven Missouri counties are now eligible for Public Assistance funding under that disaster declaration. Those counties are: Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Caldwell, Carroll, Cass, Chariton, Clark, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Howard, Jackson, Knox, Lafayette, Lewis, Linn, Livingston, Marion, Mercer, Monroe, Nodaway, Perry, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Ray, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby, Sullivan and Worth.

More detailed information on the FEMA Public Assistance program is available at /public-assistance-local-state-tribal-and-non-profit

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top