Main Content

Only One Week Left To Register For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
October 6, 2010
Release Number: 

WEST DES MOINES, Iowa -- The deadline for Iowa disaster survivors to register for federal disaster assistance is Oct. 13, 2010, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HSEMD) announced today. 

Homeowners, renters, and business owners who suffered losses in the June 1 to Aug. 31, 2010 severe storms, flooding and tornados who live in one of the 35 declared counties may be eligible for disaster assistance. The counties included in the declaration are: Appanoose, Black Hawk, Cherokee, Clayton, Decatur, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Franklin, Hamilton, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Kossuth, Lee, Lucas, Lyon, Mahaska, Marion, Monroe, O’Brien, Osceola, Polk, Ringgold, Sioux, Story, Taylor, Union, Wapello, Warren, Webster, and Wright.

"Time is running out for Iowa residents and business owners affected by this disaster to register for federal assistance and start on the road to recovery,” said State Coordinating Officer Pat Hall of Iowa HSEMD. “We urge all disaster survivors to register before it’s too late.”

As of close of business Oct. 5, there were more than 10,800 individuals registered for federal assistance in the declared counties and nearly $21.5 million had been approved through FEMA’s individual and households program. More than $7 million had been approved in low-interest disaster loans through the U.S. Small Business Administration.

Disaster loans up to $200,000 are available to homeowners to repair or replace their damaged or destroyed primary residence through the U.S. Small Business Administration. Homeowners and renters are eligible for up to $40,000 to repair or replace damaged or destroyed personal property.

Businesses of any size and private non-profit organizations may borrow up to $2 million to repair or replace damaged or destroyed real estate, machinery and equipment, inventory, and other business assets. SBA can also lend additional funds to help homeowners and business owners with the cost of making improvements that protect, prevent, or minimize the same type of disaster from occurring in the future.

For small businesses and most private, non-profit organizations of any size, SBA offers Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) to help meet working capital needs caused by the disaster. EIDL assistance is available regardless of whether the business suffered any property damage.

Iowa flood survivors may register or check the status of their application online anytime at or by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 800-462-7585, Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time, until further notice. Multi-lingual operators are available to answer calls during this time.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: