Main Content

Deadline to Apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance is Oct. 21

Main Content
Release date: 
October 2, 2010
Release Number: 

NEW BERLIN, Wis. – Residents of Grant and Milwaukee counties who lost time from work due to severe storms, tornadoes and flooding July 20-24 may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits under the federal Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) program. DUA is one of many federal programs that were made available when President Obama declared Grant and Milwaukee counties eligible for Individual Assistance Sept. 18, 2010.

DUA extends income compensation to self-employed civilians, farm workers or individuals who have experienced lost or interrupted income. DUA benefits can cover flood-affected residents who are usually not entitled to unemployment insurance.

The first potential week payable for DUA benefits is the week of July 25, 2010 through July 31, 2010.

“Unlike regular unemployment compensation, DUA is a program to help individuals who lost jobs or cannot work because of the disaster," said Paul Ricciuti, Federal Coordinating Officer with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The deadline to file a DUA claim is Oct. 21, 2010.

Apply by contacting the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development’s Unemployment Insurance Division by phone.

1-608-232-0678 (Madison)

1-414-438-7700 (Milwaukee)

1-800-822-5246 (Toll Free)

1-888-393-8914 (TTY for individuals with speech or hearing impairments)

“Individuals who lost time from work or lost their job due to severe weather July 20-24 should apply for DUA as soon as possible,” said Wisconsin Emergency Management Administrator Mike Hinman.  

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards. 

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: