Monroe County Added To Iowa Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
October 1, 2010
Release Number: 

WEST DES MOINES, Iowa - Federal disaster assistance is being made available to Monroe County residents affected by the severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes of June 1 through Aug. 31, 2010, announced the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Homeowners, renters, and businesses are now eligible for assistance. Monroe County was added to the disaster declaration following new damage assessments requested by the state and conducted recently by local officials, representatives of the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HSEMD), and FEMA.

 “A top priority for residents who may be eligible for Individual Assistance is to register with FEMA,” said State Coordinating Officer Patrick J. Hall, with the Iowa HSEMD.

The deadline to register for assistance is Oct. 13, 2010.

Online registration is available anytime at; or by calling toll-free, 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY, 800-462-7585 for the hearing- or speech-impaired. The numbers are available seven days a week, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time, until further notice. You may also access disaster information and recovery resources directly from your smartphone at FEMA’s mobile website at

To expedite assistance, individuals should be ready to provide:

  • Current phone number
  • Address at the time of the disaster and the address where they are now staying
  • Social Security number, if available
  • A general list of damage and losses they suffered
  • If insured, their insurance policy number, or the agent's and company name

If an individual or business owner in Monroe County has already applied for assistance and received a letter of ineligibility, their application will automatically be reconsidered. Those who have registered should have received a nine-digit disaster registration number from their first registration, which they should provide when checking on the status of their registration.

Individual Assistance may include grants to help pay for temporary housing needs, essential home repairs and other disaster-related expenses. U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low interest, federal disaster loans are available to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations. They cover costs of repair or replacement of damaged real estate, personal property and business assets not fully covered by insurance or other aid. For small businesses, such loans cover working capital needs caused by the disaster. 

In all, 35 counties are currently eligible for federal disaster assistance. They are: Appanoose, Black Hawk, Cherokee, Clayton, Decatur, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Franklin, Hamilton, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Kossuth, Lee, Lucas, Lyon, Mahaska, Marion, Monroe, O’Brien, Osceola, Polk, Ringgold, Sioux, Story, Taylor, Union, Wapello, Warren, Webster, and Wright.

Receive up-to-the-minute Iowa disaster recovery information by following us on Twitter at .

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top