Disaster Recovery Center Opens In Wapello County

Main Content
Release date: 
September 29, 2010
Release Number: 

WEST DES MOINES, Iowa -- A federal/state Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) will open in Wapello County Thursday, Sept. 30, 2010 at 9 a.m. to assist individuals, households and businesses affected by Iowa's recent storms and flooding.

The DRC will be located at the Bridge View Center, 102 Church St., Ottumwa, IA 52501. The hours are 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday and from noon to 5 p.m. on Saturday until further notice.

Representatives from FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will be available at the DRCs to answer questions and provide recovery information. Written materials about various assistance programs from other federal and state agencies also are available to individuals and business owners. No cash, checks, debit cards or vouchers are distributed at DRCs.

At the DRC, visitors also may:

  • Get help completing applications for federal low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations
  • Inquire about the status of applications for federal assistance
  • Obtain referrals to voluntary organizations that may help with immediate unmet needs
  • Learn cost-effective mitigation measures to reduce the impact of future disaster losses
  • Learn about Internal Revenue Service programs available to disaster survivors.

Before visiting a DRC, first register with FEMA online at www.disasterassistance.gov; or by calling toll-free, 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY, 800-462-7585 for the hearing- or speech-impaired. The numbers are available seven days a week, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time, until further notice.

When registering, individuals will need current address and contact information, address of the damaged property, Social Security number, household composition, insurance and income information.

DRCs are currently operating at several locations across the state:

Black Hawk County
1407 Independence Ave.
Waterloo, Iowa 50703

Cherokee County                                        
530 W. Bluff St.
Cherokee, Iowa 51012  

Delaware County                            
2655 210th St.                                                
Earlville, Iowa 52041                                    

Fayette County
Oelwein Fire Department
200 W. Charles St.
Oelwein, Iowa 50662 

Lee County
300 Main St., Suite 408
Keokuk, Iowa 52632                                    

Marion County                                            
2003 N. Lincoln St.                           
Knoxville, Iowa 50138

Polk County
Boys and Girls Club
1740 Garfield Ave.    

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top