Main Content

Perry County Added To Disaster Declaration

Release date: 
September 24, 2010
Release Number: 

JEFFERSON CITY, MO. -- Perry County has been designated for all categories of the Public Assistance (PA) program as part of Missouri’s federal disaster declaration, according to officials from the Missouri State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The announcement makes federal funding available to local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in Perry County on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred June 12 through July 31.

Under the cost-share program, FEMA funds at least 75 percent of the cost for eligible work by local governments and certain private non-profit organizations.

Through the PA program, FEMA provides supplemental federal disaster grant assistance for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair, replacement, or restoration of disaster-damaged, publicly owned facilities and the facilities of certain Private Non-Profit (PNP) organizations. The PA program also encourages protection of these damaged facilities from future events by providing assistance for hazard mitigation measures during the recovery process (known as 406 Mitigation).

This brings the total number of counties designated for Public Assistance to 37. Perry County joins Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Caldwell, Carroll, Cass, Chariton, Clark, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Howard, Jackson, Knox, Lafayette, Lewis, Linn, Livingston, Marion, Mercer, Monroe, Nodaway, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Ray, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby, Sullivan and Worth counties under the disaster declaration signed by President Obama on August 17, 2010.

More detailed information on the Public Assistance program is available at:

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: