Main Content

Disaster Recovery Center Hours Change Statewide

Main Content
Release date: 
September 24, 2010
Release Number: 

WEST DES MOINES, Iowa – Hours at Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) across Iowa will change Monday, Sept. 27, the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HSEMD) and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

To date, 3,128 survivors of the June 1 to Aug. 31, 2010 severe storms, flooding and tornados have been served at DRCs across the state.

Until further notice, new DRC hours will be:

Monday through Friday: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. 
Saturday: Noon to 5 p.m.
Closed Sunday

Representatives from federal and voluntary agencies, including the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), are available at all DRCs to answer questions and provide recovery information. Written materials about various assistance programs are also available to individuals and business owners. No cash, checks, debit cards or vouchers are distributed at DRCs. Centers are for the dissemination of information to assist in disaster recovery.

At the DRC, visitors may also:

  • Get help completing applications for federal low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations
  • Inquire about the status of applications for federal assistance
  • Obtain referrals to voluntary organizations that may help with immediate unmet needs
  • Learn cost-effective mitigation measures to reduce the impact of future disaster losses

SBA offers disaster loans to repair or replace damaged real estate, personal property and business assets not covered by insurance or other aid.  For small businesses only, SBA offers disaster loans to cover working capital needs caused by the disaster.  Up to $200,000 is available to homeowners to repair or replace primary homes; up to $40,000 is available to homeowners and renters to repair or replace personal property; and, up to $2 million is available to businesses for disaster losses. 

Until Further notice, DRCs are open in the following locations:

Black Hawk County
1407 Independence Ave.
Waterloo, Iowa 50703

Cherokee County                                                                             
530 W. Bluff St.                                                                                            
Cherokee, Iowa 51012                                           

Delaware County                                        
2655 210th St.                                                
Earlville, Iowa 52041                                                               

Fayette County

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: