Main Content

Two Iowa Counties Added To Federal Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
September 20, 2010
Release Number: 

WEST DES MOINES, Iowa - Federal disaster assistance is being made available to two additional Iowa counties that suffered damage during the June 1 through Aug. 31, 2010, severe storms, flooding and tornados.

Residents of Appanoose and Wapello counties are now eligible for Individual Assistance, which is made available to homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes, announced the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).The two counties were added to the disaster declaration following new damage assessments requested by the state, and conducted recently by local officials, representatives of the Iowa Office of Emergency Management, and FEMA said Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division representatives.

They join the list of 32 counties that are receiving assistance as a result of a presidential disaster declaration signed August 14. The previously designated counties include Black Hawk, Cherokee, Clayton, Decatur, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Franklin, Hamilton, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Kossuth, Lee, Lucas, Lyon, Mahaska, Marion, O’Brien, Osceola, Polk, Ringgold, Sioux, Story, Taylor, Union, Warren, Webster, and Wright.

“A top priority for residents who may be eligible for individual assistance is to register with FEMA,” said State Coordinating Officer Patrick J. Hall, with the Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management Division. 

Online registration is available anytime at; or by calling toll-free, 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY, 800-462-7585 for the hearing- or speech-impaired. The numbers are available seven days a week, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time, until further notice. You may also access disaster information and recovery resources directly from your smartphone at FEMA’s mobile website at

To speed assistance, individuals should be ready to provide:

  • Their current phone number
  • Their address at the time of the disaster and the address where they are now staying
  • Their Social Security number, if available
  • A general list of damages and losses they suffered
  • If insured, their insurance policy number, or the agent's and company name

If an individual or business owner in either Appanoose or Wapello County has already applied for assistance and received a letter of ineligibility, their application will automatically be reconsidered. Those who have applied should have received a 9-digit disaster registration number from their first application, which they should provide when checking on the status of their registration.

Individual Assistance may include grants to help pay for temporary housing needs, essential home repairs and other disaster-related expenses. U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low interest, federal disaster loans are available to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes, and private non-profit organizations. They cover costs of repair or replacement of damaged real estate, personal property and business assets not fully covered by insurance or other aid. For small businesses, such loans cover working capital needs caused by the disaster. 

Receive up-to-the-minute Iowa disaster recovery information by following us on Twitter at .

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: