Individual Assistance Extended To Lubbock County

Main Content
Release date: 
September 17, 2010
Release Number: 

LAREDO, Texas -- Individual Assistance has been declared by President Obama for Lubbock County, according to officials with the Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The deadline to register for assistance is Oct. 4 for Lubbock County residents who sustained damages resulting from Hurricane Alex and the flooding that followed.

The President’s action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Lubbock County. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

FEMA will open a mobile Disaster Recovery Center in Slaton on Tuesday, Sept. 21.

Lubbock County joins Cameron, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Maverick, Starr, Val Verde, Webb, and Zapata counties that are eligible for Individual Assistance.

Disaster survivors are encouraged to register for assistance before visiting the DRCs by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing or speech impaired. Tele-registration hours are 7 a.m. until 10 p.m. seven days a week. Those affected by the hurricane can also register online at or visit a DRC to meet face-to-face with recovery specialists.

For more information on the Hurricane Alex disaster recovery, browse the features on this FEMA website at Users of smart phones and other mobile devices can visit Texans should also visit for more information on this disaster and preparation for future disasters.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top