Main Content

Henry County Added To FEMA Disaster Declaration For Iowa

Main Content
Release date: 
September 13, 2010
Release Number: 

West Des Moines, Iowa -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management Division (HSEMD) announced today that an additional county affected by the severe storms, flooding and tornados occurring from June 1 through Aug. 31, 2010, is now eligible for disaster infrastructure assistance.

Henry County has been added to the July 29, 2010, major disaster declaration.

Under the declaration, the following counties have already been approved for Public Assistance: Adams, Appanoose, Audubon, Black Hawk, Boone, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Calhoun, Cherokee, Clarke, Clay, Clayton, Dallas, Davis, Decatur, Delaware, Dickinson, Dubuque, Emmet, Fayette, Franklin, Guthrie, Hamilton, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Lyon,  Lucas, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Mills, Monroe, Montgomery, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto,  Polk, Ringgold, Shelby, Sioux, Story, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, and Wright.

Now, local governments and certain private non-profit organizations, including utilities, in 58 Iowa counties are eligible for reimbursement of eligible costs under FEMA’s Public Assistance Program. 

Applicants in the 58 counties may be eligible for debris removal costs and expenses for emergency protective measures taken before, during and after the storms to protect public and private property, and for permanent repairs to facilities damages by the severe summer storms from June 1 through Aug. 31, 2010.

The Public Assistance Program reimburses local governments, state agencies, and certain private non-profits that provide essential government services with federal funding for 75 percent of eligible costs. The State pays 10 percent of the eligible costs, and the applicant takes responsibility for the remaining 15 percent.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: