Main Content

Disaster Assistance Made Available To Eight Additional Nebraska Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
September 3, 2010
Release Number: 

LINCOLN, Neb. -- Federal disaster assistance is being made available to eight additional Nebraska counties that suffered damages during the severe storms, flooding and tornadoes June 1 through August 29, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

They join the 53 Nebraska counties that are receiving assistance as a result of a presidential disaster declaration signed July 15.

Public Assistance (PA) – which is aid to state and local governments, schools and certain private nonprofits – is now available in Adams, Buffalo, Dawes, Dawson, Hooker, Jefferson, Sheridan and Thurston counties.

The eight counties were added to the disaster declaration following new damage assessments requested by the state. Damage assessments are conducted by local officials and representatives of the Nebraska Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) and FEMA.

FEMA’s PA program provides federal funds to reimburse a minimum of 75 percent of the costs for removing debris, conducting emergency measures and repairing levees, roads, bridges, public utilities, water control facilities, public buildings and parks. The State of Nebraska and the applying agency cover the remaining costs.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: