Main Content

7 Counties Added To Public Assistance Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
August 27, 2010
Release Number: 

JEFFERSON CITY, MO -- Seven counties have been added to the list of counties eligible to receive Public Assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) as a result of severe storms, flooding and tornadoes during the period of June 12 thru July 31, 2010. The newly declared counties are: Knox, Linn, Marion, Monroe, Pike, Ralls, and Shelby.

The assistance was approved based on a review of damage data gathered by federal, state and local disaster officials.

FEMA’s Public Assistance program provides federal funds to reimburse 75 percent of the costs for removing debris, conducting emergency activities and repairing levees, roads, bridges, utility and water control facilities, public buildings, and parks.

These seven counties join Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Caldwell, Carroll, Cass, Chariton, Clark, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Howard, Jackson, Lafayette, Lewis, Livingston, Mercer, Nodaway, Putnam, Ray, Schuyler, Scotland, Sullivan and Worth counties under the disaster declaration signed by President Obama on August 17, 2010.

FEMA's mission is to support our citizens and first responders and ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.



Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: